Anecdote: How a stranger’s help touched my soul

When I got on the train yesterday on my way to work with three different bags, my hair got tangled in the mess of them. I’m sure many of you with long hair can relate and are probably wondering now: “So what?” Well, while I tried untangling them, rather unsuccessfully, the woman next to me suddenly said: “Oh dear, that doesn’t look very good. Here, let me help you.” With my consent, this stranger handed me her coffee to hold and helped me untangle my hair – and I found it to be a very intimate gesture. Motherly in a way. It was weird because I have observed that it is (unfortunately) very unlikely that people today help strangers. So I found her help so refreshing. I thanked her kindly and replied: “Women helping women. This feels good. What a nice start into the morning.” Once said, I noticed other women around me smiling – even if just a little. And this reaction filled me with joy and a sense of mutual belonging. Have you experienced similar scenarios in which you felt connected to strangers? I’d love to hear them!

Leave a comment